No inner line permit needed for Ladakh?

As per a circular issued by the District Magistrate of Leh, Indian Citizens will no longer need inner line permit to visit the following areas and valid ID cards eg. driving license, voter id card, aadhar card etc. would instead be checked at check posts en route (foreigners will still need Protected Area Permit).


Here is the list of places for which permit is no longer required:

  • Dah and Hanu (Khaltse – Domkhar – Skurbuchan – Hanudo – Biama – Dha route.)
  • Pangong Tso (from Leh to Merak Village.)
  • Tso Moriri (Leh – Chumathang – Mahe – Korzok.)
  • Loma Bend (Leh – Chumathang – Mahe – Nyoma – Loma Bend.)
  • Nubra Valley (Khardung La, Diskit, Hunder, Turtuk, Pachathang, Tyakshi, Sumur and Panamik.)
  • Tangyar (Leh – Sabhoo – Digger La – Khungru Gompa – Tangyar, only for trekking.)

In order to visit places beyond these areas, you will need Inner Line Permit from the DC Office and this order will come into effect from the 1st of May, 2014.

While this is welcome news, there is still a slight chance that this might not get implemented on the ground. Since Ladakh goes to vote on 7th of May 2014 and political parties can challenge this order in front of Election Commission.

As a traveler I am really hoping that this order isn’t challenged and at least we Indians would no longer have to go through the permit procedure, in order visit parts of our own country! However, being a realist, I am keeping my fingers crossed and eagerly waiting for 1st of May, to see whether or not this order actually gets implemented.

Reports from travelers currently in Ladakh have confirmed the fact that inner line permit for above mentioned areas is no longer needed. A copy of this order is also available now and can be viewed here.


Show Comments


  1. Amit M April 25, 2014
    • Yogesh Sarkar April 25, 2014
  2. sandeep April 25, 2014
    • Yogesh Sarkar April 25, 2014

Leave a Reply